Nominees for the 2019  St. Lucia Tennis Association Annual Awards has been announced. 

The event is scheduled to take place this Saturday 25th January, 2020 at the St. Lucia National Tennis Centre in Beausejour, Gros-Islet; five days away!! The Association Awards are a celebration of the people that work at all levels of our sport, who go above and beyond to support the game, from grassroots initiatives to supporting St. Lucia's biggest events. 

There will also be a special induction into the Tennis Hall of Fame and the presentation of a posthumous award to a person who has left their mark on the sport. It is the hope of the St. Lucia Tennis Association that these annual awards will serve to heighten the visibility of tennis and motivate upcoming players islands-wide.

Guest speaker for the ceremony will be none other than Senator the Honourable Fortuna Belrose- Minister in the Ministry of Tourism, Information and Broadcasting, Culture and Creative Industries with responsibility for Culture and Creative Industries she is also the President of the St. Lucia Olympic Committee. 

The Awards Committee have provided the nominees for the celebration of excellence in the Tennis community.

 The nominees for the St. Lucia Tennis Association Awards for 2019 are:

  1. Esteemed Award for Sporting Excellence- Vernon Lewis; Stephen Marcelle
  2. Coach of the Year- Vernon Lewis; Ron Blanchard; Scyla Murray; Hamlet Phillip; Dean White; Ricardo Francois
  3. Academy of the Year- Vernon Lewis Tennis Academy, Southern Amateur Tennis Club, Acers Tennis Club, Blanchard Tennis Academy, Total Tennis Academy
  4. Sportsman of the Year- Maxx William, Adriel Bousquet, Clent Mitchel
  5. Sports Woman of the Year- Meggan William
  6. Junior Sportsman of the Year- Arden Rosemond; Jordan Hunte
  7. Junior Sportswoman of the year- Jorja Mederick, Iyana Paul, Alysa Elliott, Aviona Edmund
  8. Team of the year- Jorja Mederick/Alysa Elliott and Arden Rosemond/Joey Angeloni. Iyana Paul/ Latoya Murray
  9. Top three high performance athletes per category U10, U12, U14, U6, U18 and gender. 
  10. Media Awards- David Pascal, Anthony Debeauville, Kenson Casimir
  11. Community Achievement Award- Ricardo Francois
  12. Technical Official Award- Iesha Emile, Catherine Morille, Dara Sidoine, Ronel Blanchard, Thaddeus Emile
  13. Posthumous Award- Finbar Willie; Una Francis
  14. Recognition of all Sponsors.
  15. Hall of Fame Induction

The St. Lucia Tennis Association thanks the entire tennis fraternity, donors, sponsors and the Parents Committee for all your contribution and support in the planning of this event.